The perfect job

Cassini am Saturn

Image via Wikipedia

If I had my pick of jobs, I would definitely become an astronaut or a mission controller for a satellite voyage like Cassini to study Saturn. Like so many space geeks growing up in the 70s, Star Trek certainly had its influence on me.

I can still hear the echoes in my head calling to boldly go where no one has gone before. It inspired me so much that I begged my parents for a telescope and received one for Christmas when I was a kid.

I can still remember lying on my grandmother’s living room floor on a very hot July day watching the first moon landing on her black and white TV. I can also recall my Italian grandfather saying, I don’t believe it because it’s just Hollywood. Born in 1912 he came from a different world.

As technology advances, space exploration will become more common place and a career in intergalactic exploration will become one of the most exciting jobs out there.

Maybe there’s a space job out there for you. Start your new career at www.spacejobs.com

About Mario Carr

Mario Carr has a Physics degree from McMaster University and hosts this blog. He is the director of publicity for the Hamilton Amateur Astronomers and has helped to raise the profile of the group. He writes an astronomy column and appeared on CHCH-TV to talk about the night sky. Mario is the founder of the Carr Marketing Group in Burlington, Ontario and can help with your marketing, communications, publicity and public relations needs. He can be reached at www.carrmarketinggroup.com or mariocarr@cogeco.ca.
This entry was posted in Comments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The perfect job

  1. I briefly dreamed about becoming an astronaut. I remember the moon landing, too. My family was on vacation along the Delaware river in a rural mountain cabin. My Dad sprang for a hotel room on that night (shocking for such a frugal guy) so he and his six children could watch the moon landing live.

    It WAS so Hollywood.

    I had some young German visitors this Summer who believe it was all a ruse! Made me sad and very patriotic simultaneously.

    I am grateful I found you today via Postaday!

    • Mario Carr says:

      Hi Julie:

      Thanks for your comment. My grandfather was an extremely frugal guy too. I’m sure my grandfather and your Dad would be shocked at the price of the moon landings.

      Mario

  2. Pingback: My Dream Job « Top Left Hand Page

Leave a comment