How far can we go?

Astronaut Buzz Aldrin photographed by Neil Arm...

Image via Wikipedia

In the late 60s, when I was about eight years old, I remember lying on my grand parents living floor on a hot summer’s afternoon, watching TV and witnessing the Apollo 11 Lunar Module land on the moon.

Then hearing those timeless words from astronaut Neil Armstrong say on July 21, 1969, “one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.” 

Even at that young age, I understood the significance of this accomplishment to the human race.

I was proud of witnessing this marvelous achievement of technology. I thought what an accomplishment for man kind and what an amazing time I was privileged to born into.

As I lay on the floor dreaming about outer space and the moon, I suddenly heard my grandfather sitting on his rocking chair just behind me blurt out.

What a pile of …. well, let’s say bull.

My grandfather was born in 1912 and landing on the moon was an unreal event for him. He came from a time when we were still riding horses and buggies and airplanes were just being invented a few years before he was born.

Then less than 60 years later we were landing on the moon. For him it seemed like Hollywood. 

We’ve come a long way from our cave man roots. Landing on the moon was unquestionably an amazing accomplishment. What I think is even more amazing is that we can actually comprehend outer space, other worlds and the universe.

We are amazing creatures. It makes me wonder how far can we push our limits and how far can we really go.

About Mario Carr

Mario Carr has a Physics degree from McMaster University and hosts this blog. He is the director of public education for the Hamilton Amateur Astronomers and has helped to raise the profile of the group. He writes an astronomy column and appears on CHCH-TV to talk about the night sky. Mario is the founder of the Carr Marketing Group in Burlington, Ontario and can help with your marketing, communications, publicity and public relations needs. He can be reached at www.carrmarketinggroup.com or mariocarr@cogeco.ca.
This entry was posted in Insight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

